Jefferson County Sheriff's Office Jefferson County Sheriff's Office Jefferson County Sheriff's Office
Home Press Releases Registered Offenders Most Wanted Contact Us
Sign Up For Alerts
Courthouse Security
Crime Stoppers
Crime Tips/Prevention
Detective Division
Dive Team
Frequently Asked Questions
Hot Cases
Inmate Roster
K-9 Unit
Links & Resources
Patrol Division
Search & Rescue
Sheriff Sales
Support Services
Choose A Service
Crime Tip HOTline
(785) 863-2765
(24 Hours)
Email Map
1360 Walnut
Oskaloosa, Kansas 66066
Administrative Office
M-F 8:00am-4:30pm

Patrol Division


The Patrol Division operates under the direction of Captain George Welch. In addition to Captain Welch, the Patrol Division consists of:

  • Lt. Robert Poppa
  • Sgt. Kevin Gibson
  • Sgt. David Mitchell
  • Sgt. Clay McHardie
  • Sgt. Dana Boyer
  • Deputy CP Uitts
  • Deput Tim Bacon
  • Deputy Brian Dailey
  • Deputy Bill Buschbom
  • Deputy Michael Henning
  • Deputy Wade Noll
  • Deputy Barbara Snyder
  • Deputy Dana Boyer
  • Deputy Tyler Wade
  • Deputy Tom Ryan
  • Deputy Rick Hamm
  • Deputy Brian Dailey 
  • Deputy Eric Lang
  • Deputy Jerry Greene
  • Deputy Brady Adams
  • Deputy Steven Peters
  • Deputy Tom Ryan

Patrol deputies are responsible for answering and handling all complaint calls and calls for service or assistance from members of the public. The current population of Jefferson County is 18,400. The deputies are responsible for patrolling 2, 231 miles of road and providing a visible presence as a proactive measure to help deter crime. The patrol deputies are also responsible for patrolling Lake Perry, which consists of 39,000 acres of land and water. Lake Perry offers boating, fishing, camping, hunting, nature trails, walking and biking trails. There are approximately one million visitors at Lake Perry per year. Deputies patrol and enforce state laws and county ordinances throughout the 555 square miles in Jefferson County.

Deputies respond to complaint calls, crimes in progress, take reports, serve warrants, investigate accidents on county roads and highways, and perform a wide array of related duties. The deputies provide assistance to other law enforcement agencies in Jefferson County and surrounding areas as needed.

The Jefferson County Sheriff's Office responded to 5928 calls in 2016


Minimun Qualifications for Deputy Sheriff

  • Applicant must be 21 years of age at time of appointment
  • High school diploma or G.E.D. Certificate
  • Honorable Discharge from Military Service (if applicable)
  • United States Citizen
  • Applicants must successfully pass an intense background investigation.
  • Applicants will be required to successfully complete a pre-employment drug screen.
  • Applicants may not have any felony convictions or its equivalent under the Uniform Code of Military Justice. Applicants must be of good moral character.
  • Applicants shall be conditioned upon the following: The physical ability to perform the duties of his/hers position as verified by occupational performance testing.
  • Average or above average physical condition with weight in proportion to height. No physical or mental condition that hampers performance and causes unnecessary risk to oneself or the community. Able to walk, run, and stand for extended periods of time. Must be able to transverse or climb irregular surfaces.
  • Applicants must have a full range of motion, be able to operate Sheriff's Office firearms and be able to participate in all aspects of physical training.
  • Normal hearing and olfactory function (sense of smell).
  • Eyesight requirement of 20/20 or correctable to 20/20 in both eyes. Full color vision or corrected color vision certified by a physician. Night and peripheral vision required.
  • Demonstrate responsibility and stable behavior in their past employments, financial history, personal relationships, and personality.
  • Successfully complete the Selection Procedures before eligibility for employment will be granted.

Applicants must read, write, and speak English fluently, with no dysfunctional reading


Additional Information

Captain George Welch
Deputy Bill Buschbom
Deputy Brian Dailey
Deputy CP Uitts
Deputy Dave Mitchell
Deputy Mike Henning
Deputy Rick Hamm
Deputy Tim Bacon

Deputy Wade Noll
Lieutenant Robert Poppa
Sergeant David Mitchell

Sergeant Kevin Gibson
Deputy Tyler Wade
Deputy Barbara Snyder
Deputy Jerry Greene



   Jefferson County Sheriff's Office | ©
   Jefferson County, Kansas