Skip to Main Content

Detective Division

The Detective Division is under the leadership of Captain Kevin Kufahl. There are two full time Detectives assigned to the division, Detective Sergeant Mark Montague, and Detective Darren Brown. 

Detectives in Jefferson county work major crimes that occur in Jefferson County. Death investigations, physical and sexual child abuse, property crimes, identity theft and crimes against persons would be examples of some of the types of investigations that the detectives are involved in.

All of the detectives in this division are members of the Capitol Area Major Case Squad. The Major Case Squad consists of Investigators from a nine county area in northeast Kansas. Agencies from these counties assist each other with major crimes. The Major Case Squad provides specialized training each year to members of the squad.

Detectives in this division are responsible for interviewing suspects and witnesses, processing crime scenes, collecting evidence, preparing search warrants and many other duties.

Captain Kufahl  may be contacted at the Jefferson County Sheriff's Office Monday through Friday , from 8am to 4pm 785-863-2765, should you have any questions regarding a report you have made with the Sheriff's Office. You may also contact him and other members of the Detective Division by email. Their email addresses are listed below.

Additional Information
Captain Kevin Kufahl

Sergeant Mark Montague

Sergeant Darren Brown

Crime Tip Hotline
Submit Via Email