Skip to Main Content

"Thank You" Jefferson County Residents


It is a privilege to serve as the Sheriff of Jefferson County.  I am honored to lead a team of dedicated professional Administrative Staff, Correctional Staff and Deputies who work daily to protect and serve the place we call home.   We take great pride in serving our community where neighbors help neighbors, and where we rely on each other to uphold the principles of goodness and respect for others.

We appreciate the support of the residents of Jefferson County and your efforts to assist the Sheriff's Office.    Community policing is key to helping the Sheriff's Office maintain safety and protection for all County residents.  The Sheriff's Office website provides an avenue for the public to submit information or tips to our Office via email to assist with these community policing efforts.  If you have a concern or information you'd like to share, please submit it to us by emailing us at or calling the Sheriff's Office at 785-863-2765.

Again, I am honored to serve as your Sheriff and appreciate your support.

Sheriff Jeff Herrig

Sheriff Herrig has been employed at the Jefferson County Sheriff's Office since 1982.

In 1993 he was appointed by then Sheriff Roy Dunnaway to the position of Undersheriff.

On April 4th, 2008, he was appointed to the position of Sheriff by Governor Kathleen Sebelius, to fill out the term of Sheriff Dunnaway.

Sheriff Herrig is a member of the National Sheriff's Association, Kansas Sheriff's Association, Capital Area Major Case Squad, International Association of Property & Evidence, Kansas Chiefs of Police Association, and Midwest Association of Certified Voice Stress Analysts.

On July 22, 2009, Sheriff Herrig was appointed to represent the Kansas Sheriff's on the Kansas Advisory Group on Juvenile Justice and Delinquency prevention by the Governor.

January 2015, Sheriff Herrig was appointed President of the Kansas Sheriff's Association.

On July 1, 2015, Sheriff Herrig was appointed by Governor Brownback as a member on the Kansas Commission of Peace Officers Standards and Training.

On May 21, 2021, Sheriff Herrig was appointed as a member of the Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Advisory Committee by Governor Laura Kelly.



Crime Tip Hotline
Submit Via Email